Book review: Nineteen Minutes

Credit: JodiPicoult.com

Credit: JodiPicoult.com

Today I finally finished a book that I’ve been working my way through for months: Nineteen Minutes by Jodi Picoult.

I’m a big fan of Jodi Picoult’s writing and I love how she tells a story. I’ve read many of her books before so I was very excited to read Nineteen Minutes after quite a few people had recommended it to me.

So what did I think? Well, I wouldn’t go as far as to say that I was disappointed. I enjoyed the twist that was thrown in at the end, I think it just took a little too long to get there. Minor hints were dropped throughout the storyline, but none that really got me hooked. For me, it lacked the ‘so what’ element that usually makes me addicted to books.

The characters were believable, although infuriating at times (but I guess that makes a good book). Josie’s Mum, Alex, in particular, drove me a bit crazy, for how long it took her to realise how much Josie needed her. I also would have liked to see a bit of the story from Matt’s point of view – I think that would have been an interesting frame of mind to explore.

I’m trying not to be negative, as overall I did like this book, and I’ll definitely continue to read more of Jodi Picoult’s books. This one though, wasn’t quite for me.

Have you read it? Let me know what you thought @averybusyb

Leave a Reply

