Barcelona: The City that Never Sleeps

So, it’s true what they say: Barcelona really is the city that never sleeps. I’ve just come back from the most amazing six days of exploring the beautiful city both in the day and at night, and all I can say is that I’ll definitely be returning!

It’s hard to summarise the six days into anything remotely readable, so I thought I’d come up with a few highlights instead… so here goes!

IMG_33121) The beautiful scenery: 

I know there’s places all over the world where you can see beautiful beaches and tranquil settings, but what I loved about Barcelona was the combination of the busy city and the idyllic views. From the hidden sidewalks to the late evening sunsets, Barcelona is never without a beautiful view – no matter where you’re sitting.

 

2) The Nightlife: 

IMG_3281I was lucky enough that my visit coincided with the closing party for one of Barcelona’s biggest clubs: Opium, which is definitely the best club I’ve ever been to! Not only were the DJs amazing, but the club itself was huge and beautiful… and clean! It was extremely refreshing to not have to worry about standing on glass or slipping on spilt drinks whilst trying to dance, which is something that is definitely a problem when I usually go out. What’s more, the club was sitting directly on the beach, so when I left at 5am I was greeted by another lovely view! Although the drinks were expensive, the bartenders were more than generous which meant that it was definitely worth the money. It was such a good night and I’d definitely go back if I got the chance!

 

3) The food and drink:

IMG_3092Before I left, I was warned that the prices of food and drink in Barcelona were very high, but to be honest, I didn’t find it that bad! I fell in love with Sangria (which I’d never had before) and drank copious amounts of wine, which compared to the prices at home was relatively cheap. As for the food, I ate the most delicious olives that I’ve ever had and stuffed myself full of lots of scrumptious tapas dishes. After all, you can’t go to Barcelona and not eat tapas! As for my favourite bar, if you ever go to Barcelona then I thoroughly recommend visiting ‘Makamaka’ which is located just off the beach and has a simple yet tasty menu of burgers and salads, as well as incredibly delicious chips and wasabi-mayonnaise (you HAVE to order the chips!). The drinks menu was varied and reasonably priced and the staff were extremely friendly. But the thing that I loved most about the bar was the decoration of it; the mix-matched furniture and bright colours, along with the dainty lanterns placed on each table made it a wonderfully relaxed setting to enjoy a drink or two.

I know there’s a lot more to Barcelona than what I’ve mentioned above, but like I said, I think it’s impossible to write everything down without writing a ten-thousand word essay about it. But the bottom line is, if you ever get the chance, you HAVE to go to Barcelona!

Leave a Reply

